UFC 227 Fight Card

(Video Credit: YouTube/UFC)

This weekend two belts will be on the line as UFC 227 will make it’s way to the Staples Centre in Los Angeles. The main event will see T.J. Dillashaw take on Cody ‘No Love’ Garbrandt for the Bantamweight while the co-main event will pit Flyweight champion Demetrious ‘Mighty Mouse’ Johnson against former Olympic Wrestler Henry Cejudo.


Garbrandt is looking to avenge his loss to Dillashaw at UFC 217. Their first fight had plenty of feeling in it as Dillashaw and Garbrandt were former training partners at Team Alpha Male. After leaving the Sacramento based team, Dillashaw has been Team Alpha Males public enemy number one.


In the first fight Garbrandt was able to hurt Dillashaw in the first round but the end of the saved Dillashaw from defeat. The tables turned in the second round as Dillashaw hurt Garbrandt with head kick; he was able to get the finish soon after as landed a right hand and flurry of punches for the TKO win.


In the night’s co-main event, the man known as ‘Mighty Mouse’ will look to continue his dominance over the Flyweight division as looks to defeat number 1 contender Henry Cejudo. Since the division’s inception in 2012, Demetrious Johnson has dominated the division, in fact his only blip on his record is a draw back in 2012 to Ian ‘Uncle Creepy’ McCall.


Johnson and Cejudo fought back at UFC 197 in 2016 where Johnson TKO’d Cejudo in the first round. At the time, Cejudo was meant to be the toughest challenger for Johnson to date, he however dominated the fight. Cejudo’s game plan in the first fight looked to be work Johnson in the clinch, Johnson has lighting speed, he moves in out so quickly that Joe Rogan labelled him a ghost. Johnson was able to dominate in the clinch and hurt Cejudo and put an end to the fight.


The full fight card is as follows:

Main Event

T.J. Dillashaw vs. Cody ‘No Love’ Garbrandt

 Co-Main Event

Demetrious ‘Mighty Mouse’ Johnson vs. Henry ‘The Messenger’ Cejudo

Cub Swanson vs. Renato Moicano

Polyana ‘Dama de Ferro’ Viana vs. JJ Aldrich

Thiago ‘de Lima Marreta’ vs. Kevin ‘Trailblazer’ Holland


FX Prelims

Pedro ‘The Young Punisher’ Munhoz vs. Brett ‘The Pikey’ Johns

Ricky Simon vs. Montel ‘Quik’ Jackson

Matt Sayles vs. Sheymon Moraes

Fight Pass Prelims

Alex Perez vs. Jose ‘Shorty’ Torres

Ricardo Ramos vs. Kyung Ho ‘Mr Perfect’ Kang

Danielle ‘Dynamite’ Taylor vs. Weili ‘Magnum’ Zhang

Marlon ‘Chito’ Vera vs. Wuliji ‘Beast Master’ Buren

Bethe Correia vs. Irene Aldana has been scrapped due to an eye issue to Bethe Correia

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: